I ride the Green Lion

Me and my friends went out last night and over dinner we had this fantastic discussion about 90’s stuff. With three of us on the same age bracket, we had a ball sharing things to our younger friends on the cool things that made everything about that decade seem so utterly blissful.

Me and my friends went out last night and over dinner we had this fantastic discussion about 80’s and 90’s stuff. With three of us on the same age bracket, we had a ball sharing things to our younger friends on the cool things that made everything about that decade seem so utterly blissful.

Of course who can forget the Nintendo Family Computer? As my parents were not really into spoiling me and my sister with pricey gadgets like these, we resorted to going to those rental shops where there’s this long line of kids waiting for their turn on. I remember feeling so frustrated that I’m already the next one on cue then the kid before me would pay for an extra half hour extension! OMG it made me wanna strangle him! I wanted my Mario and my Battle City! Looking back I guess that was how I first developed my EQ – it taught me  a valuable lesson on delayed gratification.

And then there were those cartoons! Captain Planet (he’s a hero, gonna take pollution down to zero), Thundercats (whooooooo), Voltron (Lion Team FTW) and GI Joe and Transformers and Visionaries! Plus those Marvel mid morning cartoons – Thor (at the rainbow bridge of Asgard, where the blue in heavens roar, you’ll behold the ____ wonder, the god of thunder, mighty Thor!), Iron Man (amazing armor, it’s Iron Man) and Namor the Submariner. There were no weirdos like Spongebob nor Catdog (?) All we had were the best superheroes any kid could find. Maybe that’s why we had this notion that if anyone tries really hard enough, you could actually rule the world!

I would have to agree that childhood is really bliss. The times when all you ever worry about is when the next fun thing will be. Funny thing is, in retrospect, it’s true that whatever stuff you enjoyed when you were young really greatly affects how you’d turn out when you grow up.

One thought on “I ride the Green Lion

  1. True that!!! It was really fun when we tackle these topics!!! And the fun thing about this is nadidiscover natin na may mga similarities tayo nung kabataan natin… or kabataan nyo pala. Haha! 🙂

Leave a Reply

